Daniel Dubois Stops Lerena In 3 Rounds But Did Lerena Really Win

Daniel Dubois Stops Lerena In 3 Rounds But Did Lerena Really Win?

Daniel Dubois made the first defence of his WBA Regular World Title this evening against South African Kevin Lerena at the Tottenham stadium on the Fury vs Chisora undercard. But controversy ensues as the official rules state Lerena actually should have been called the winner.

Fans were left shocked mid-way through the first round as Daniel Dubois was on shaky legs after Lerena landed a blow to the top of Dubois’ head, sending Dubois to the canvas. Daniel Dubois subsequently then found himself on the floor two more times in the first, which is where the controversy begins.

Daniel Dubois Stops Lerena In 3 Rounds

The WBA like the other sanctioning bodies have specific rules by which their bouts must abide by, and this is where Dubois’ fight should have ended in the first round.

In the rules of the WBA, it clearly states the following: “It is critical to note that in bouts governed by the WBA rules three(3) knockdowns in the same round automatically end the bout by TKO also, WBA rules specify that the bell cannot save the fighter in ANY round.

It must be said, Daniel Dubois did also appear to have injured his ankle as he was heading toward the canvas in the first knockdown, which was a telling sign as to why he went down the following two times.